Should government reduce funding for the arts to allocate more resource to education? Do you Agree or Disagree

Many believe governments should allocate more funds towards education rather than for the arts. As far as I am concerned, I disagree with this viewpoint, as I believe the arts allow people to express their creativity and restricting funds could cause them to lose their occupations. In addition, the arts are also a medium which enables individuals to relax in times of stress.

The arts is a means by which people exhibit their natural talents. Certain people possess a gift that allows them to draw beautiful pictures or dance in a rhythmic manner that captivates the audience. If the arts were to lose funding, then this would stifle the creativity process of these gifted artists, as they would have to support their lives by other means, which could lead to a mundane existence. Therefore, stopping or reducing funds towards the arts could mean endangering the livelihoods of many who work enthusiastically in this unique sector of work.

Furthermore, the arts help to provide an opportunity for many to have some time for rest and relaxation. Looking at a beautiful painting of a sunset, or reading a light-hearted poem, can be a means of escape from the hectic routine lives of many. For instance, the Bob Ross painting programme that aired in the USA, witnessed around 5 million viewers during its peak. A survey was conducted, where these viewers revealed that Bob’s beautiful scenic paintings combined with his soothing voice created a relaxing atmosphere that enabled them to get away from their busy lives for half an hour each day, thus helping them recuperate in midst of their hectic schedules.

In conclusion, a significant proportion of people argue that governments should channel more funds towards education by restricting spending on the arts. I disagree with this statement, as I believe many individuals can exhibit their creativity, while being employed simultaneously, and defunding the arts could lead to many losing their jobs. In addition, I also believe that the arts provide a medium to enable people to relax in the midst of their busy lives.