Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that long-term job seekers have to engage in some voluntary activities for their communities because they have been receiving benefits from the government. Although engaging in some voluntary activities helps them to display their calibers to society, I believe that this creates some influence to make deviations in their dreams. This essay aims to elucidate the merits and demerits of unemployed people doing voluntary work.

On the positive aspects, unemployed people engaging in voluntary activities helps them in several ways. This provides a new platform to display their calibers to society. They can choose voluntary work based on their personal interests, so they can nourish their visions as per their wishes. Consider Kerala; they have a lot of unemployed people in receipt of government benefits, and this group of individuals is taking some voluntary initiatives, such as planting trees on roadsides, gathering plastic waste from public spaces, and providing elderly care at their homes.

On the negative aspects, this creates some influence to make deviations in their career goals. The majority of individuals have shifted their career paths after starting and focusing on voluntary work. This can result in permanent unemployment in their lives because they do not find enough time to search for job opportunities. For example, a case study conducted among elderly people in old-age homes illustrated that the majority of them were unemployed in their later periods of life, but they had all actively participated in all environmental initiatives.

In conclusion, I believe that doing volunteer work is the preference of individuals, and I never support long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits doing some voluntary actions. Although engaging in some voluntary activities helps them to some extent, I believe that this can make permanent unemployment in their lives.