Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniably remarkable that the government always paves it way to supoort its people, regardless of employment status. However, requiring long-term job seekers to volunteer has become a topic of much debate. While this may seem a reasonable idea where both the individual and community can benefit, it is also pivotal to examine the potention impact it would inflict on the people involved before a conclusion is drawn.

On the positive perspective, obliging long term-job seekers to render service for the community through volunteerism promotes a sense of duty and purpose, something that is essential for the entire well-being of a person. A daily routine ensures one to be active and do something productive everyday which may improve a person’s perception about himself – upholding one’s dignity.

In addition, it would lead to a wide range of opportunity for long-term job seekers to earn a wealthy work experience that is mostly appealing to potential employers. This is especially true if the reason of the person’s unemployability is the lack of skills and work experience, an almost always a requirement or a qualification that most employers are seeking for. For instance, someone volunteering at a coffee shop would naturally acquire the customer service skills, a background that usually delights employer of administrative work or customer service representative.

However, this system tends to overlook the essence of volunteerism wherein the will to participate should have come from the heart of the individual itself, rather than “demanding” them to do something as a goodwill for the benefits they have received. In addition, it may result for companies receiving the service to exploit the hardwork of the volunteers, something that the government should take a closer look upon, and protect the volunteers in every way.

In the light of these, while voluntary work offers positive aspects for people and the community , their welfare must also be protected in any way.