There is no need to attend a live performance (a play or concert) because seeing it at home on television is better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, many people claim that attending live performances such as shows or concerts is unnecessary since they can watch them on television or a computer at home. I partly agree with this opinion based on several compelling reasons which will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, it is understandable why watching shows or concerts on technological devices instead of directly attending them is considered a more viable option. The foremost reason lies in cost-effectiveness. As a matter of fact, joining in live shows or concerts require a large amount of budgets to cover numerous things, including show tickets, transportation and accommodation costs, recreational services and food costs, whereas with just Internet connection and a digital device, watching these shows online can be reached, which is significantly more economical. In tandem with cost-saving nature, watching live performances digitally can save a lot of time. This can be explained by the fact that a certain show or concert tends to last about up to over four hours, not including queuing time usually lasting even longer, which is quite time-consuming and can encroach into time to do other responsibilities. Therefore, watching these performances online at home can be time-saving and help you carry out more important tasks compared to attending them directly.

On the other hand, watching live performances on television or a computer at home rather than attending them may have some certain limitations. First, people often fail to fully feel the vibrant atmosphere of the concerts or shows. Indeed, concerts are usually set up carefully with a modern system of sound effects, lighting and large screens and features interactions between audiences and performers, allowing attendees to have immersive experiences, which cannot be fully duplicated through a screen. As a result, viewers through digital devices are likely to find the concerts or shows less engaging and enjoyable. Furthermore, watching live performances online cannot create long-lasting memories compared to being physically present at concerts or shows. Attending these shows in person can enable people to meet and communicate with other audiences and share emotionally special moments together, which can create unforgettable memories that people can look back on.

In conclusion, while watching live performances digitally at home rather than attending them in person can save money and time, it can fail to fully duplicate the vibrant atmosphere of these shows and not create memorable moments.