Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Long-term job seekers who receive government benefits are someone who is just living without working with the taxpayers’ money which does not seem to be fair. Understandably, the government doesn’t want anyone to be stripped of their basic human needs but at the same time job seekers need to do some work to get what they get.

I think making long-term job seekers do some voluntary work is essential for them to do something for the society that is putting a roof under them, giving them food and clothing otherwise people will get comfortable not working and getting their basic needs met and will never give back to the society. If they do volunteer work, they will understand how they are poverty in most places and how people are struggling in one way or another which will make them more responsible and want to upskill themselves and get a job or at least they are being useful to someone and has a purpose of life.

In India, there are no such government benefits provided to anyone but just basic ration and other needs covered, So, every individual has a seeking and is determined to find a job to make a better living for themselves. Sometimes, it is important for anyone to not spoon-feed but let others figure out a life for themselves as people might get too comfortable with what they have and will never aim for higher. It is essential to provide the same education, and match the resources to a certain level, equipping them to find a job rather than providing the essentials for them. For example, I have seen a bachelor’s degree holder who does not have any quest for life but just is lazy to not do any work and sleep all day, he is not active nor beneficial to anyone or is living with any dignity. People should always work hard for the things that they want in their lives to know the value of life and money.

In conclusion, the government needs to make these people do at least voluntary work for them to stay active and be of some help to others rather than not contributing anything to society. Government is equally responsible for making or breaking talented, skilful citizens in the country and this will help them mould their characters and bring in some changes to their life.