Should students be allowed to use their phones during lessons?

Nowadays, smartphones are very popular and almost every student have one. However, using phones in class is big discussion topic today. In my opinion, students should not allow to use their phones during lessons because it causes many distraction, even though phones can be useful sometimes.

On the one hand, some people think phones are good for education. Students can search information on the internet very fast when they do not understand something. Also, they can use online dictionaries for learn new words in English lesson. For example, my friend always use his phone to check word meaning in class and it help him a lot. So, phones can be helpful tool for studying.

On the other hand, the main problem is that phones disturb students from learning. Most young people like checking social media like Instagram or playing games when they are bored. If teacher is speaking, students do not listen because they are looking at their screens. As a result, their marks become bad because they cannot concentrate. In addition, some students can use phones for cheat in exams, which is not fair for other hard-working students.

In conclusion, although smartphones have some benefits for searching information, I think they bring more disadvantages in classroom. Therefore, schools should ban phones during lessons so students can study better.