Smokers can cause themselves serious health problems. The choice to smoke is made freely and with the knowledge of dangers. Smokers should therefore expect to pay more for medical treatment than non-smokers. To what extent do you agree with this statement? • You should write at least 250 words. • You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is a well-known fact that smoking still remains one of the most harmful habits causing various diseases, including cancer. To continue smoking and cause themselves serious health issues is only smokers’ choice, that is definitely made willingly and based on their preferences. Should smokers pay more money for medical services than people who don’t have that harmful habit? It is a very interesting question to debate. In this essay, I am going to give my answer to this question by sharing my thoughts and opinions.

Firstly, smokers, as I mentioned above, make their choice voluntarily. Only they are responsible for their physical health. If they are into smoking, it doesn’t mean that they have to pay more when they come to hospitals for help. Smokers don’t consume more pills than non-smokers, do they? Or maybe they require more time when they get instrumental observations. I don’t think so.

Secondly, tobacco users contribute to the national economy, no matter how paradoxical it sounds. They work, get salaries, and waste their money on cigarettes; tobacco manufacturers get that money and must transfer part of it as tax or excise to the budget. Will it be fair to oblige people with nicotine addictions to make extra payments to doctors? I guess no.

Thirdly, tobacco consumers are not allowed to smoke at public places; smoking areas are allocated for them. For instance, restaurants divide their space into zones for smokers and non-smokers. Thus, non-smoking people are protected against the harmful impact of cigarette smoke. In other words, it is not smokers’ fault if other people start smoking or become ill.

In conclusion, I would like to mention that some people who are keen on smoking believe that cigarettes help them to relief stress, and there are some people who are not able to give up smoking. According to these arguments, I would not agree with the statement that smokers should spend more money on medical services.