Smoking Tobacco is becoming increasingly popular among young people with potentially serious effects on their healths.Explain some reasons for this problem and suggest some possible solutions

Smoking, especially Tobacco, has been identified as one of the trends that youth engage in that present intense effects on their health. this essay will focus on some of the causes of this problem as well as some solutions to curb this menace. Peer pressure as well as easy accessibility of the substance are the leading causes of this problem. To curb this, counselling and government policies are needed.

To start with, peer pressure is a major culprit of the problem identified. This is the direct or indirect influence on peers, i.e., members of social groups with similar interests, experiences, or social statuses. Members of a peer group are more likely to influence a person’s beliefs, values, and behaviour. If majority of the group are for smoking tobacco, then it will not be too long before new members begin to smoke. In 2022, 10 in every 15 students in high schools were reported to smoke, however, when those students graduated and started working, there was a 15% reduction in the number of young people smoking. This decline was attributed to the rise in counselling centres across the state. The fees to see a counsellor was waiver for youth in the country. Hence, the decline.

In conclusion, this essay focused on some of the causes of smoking tobacco among youth as well as some solutions to curb the menace. This has detrimental effects on the health of this group. Peer pressure as well as easy accessibility to the substance are the leading causes of this problem. To curb this, counselling and government policies are needed