Social media has many aspect with, but it is widely assumed that the bad outweigh the good.To what extent do you agree with this assumption?

In recent times, the impact social media has had on society has been beyond comprehension. Even though there are numerous advantages to social media networks, they have disadvantages as well. But I don’t think that its disadvantages outweigh the advantages, though a large population believes in its adverse ramifications.

To begin with, social media has revolutionized the world, as it has made worldwide communication possible in the blink of an eye. People are able to get in contact with others via voice as well as video calls and text messages. For example, social media networks like WhatsApp, Facebook, Instagram, and so on have made communication easier regardless of the distance; the only condition is the availability of the internet. Likewise, small-scale businesses, which emerged especially during the pandemic,were able to run their businesses from the comforts of their homes using these social networking sites. For instance, during COVID-19, people were able to network using these social media platforms.

Furthermore, social media networks have helped thousands of users generate income by following their passions. Not only this, but people are also able to learn about subjects of their interest by following and subscribing to the channels of their interest. For instance, a lot of young social media influencers like Khaby Lame, Doctor Mike have changed their fortunes overnight through social media. In addition to that, some online influencers even donate a part of their income to the economically weaker sections of society, which is streamed through their channels. Hence, they are encashing their good work, earning more views, and generating more income.

Conversely, addiction is one of the main demerits of such social networking sites. However, it can be tackled by creating awareness among the people and through adult supervision in the case of underage children.

To conclude, social networking sites have both positive and negative sides. Nevertheless, it is considered a boon because of its remarkable contribution to globalization. The negative aspects, mainly the overuse and addictive nature of these social media platforms, can be mitigated, to some extent, through awareness and proper monitoring.