Social media is becoming more and more trendy today, what are the advantages and disadvantages of using social media

There is a growing trend of utilizing social platforms. This trend offers undeniable benefits such as connectivity and professional opportunities; however, it is not without negative implications in terms of privacy and mental health effects.

A significant benefit is that social media allows people to communicate with others globally as well as fostering relationships. By using medias, it enables individuals to stay connected with friends, families and communities, facilitating real-time conversation and sharing of experience, which significant benefit for users. Consequently, this not only strengthens family bonds, but also awareness on various topics. This is exemplified by the Facebook or the Twitter, which bridging geographical barriers, since people can share photos, videos and alert emergency updates, contacts. Therefore, the use of digital apps help maintain and spread awareness campaigns like climate change or social justice.

A main concern related to mass media is decreasing data security. With social networking sites collect and store vast amounts of personal information, which can be accessed by third parties, users are often vulnerable to unauthorized access and misuse of their data. The direct results of this re not confined to facing identity theft, but also extend to eroding public trust in digital media. A perfect case in point is the Facebook, which the private data of millions of Facebook followers were harvested in 2018 without their consent for targeted political advertising. In this regard, online networking may pose serious risks to privacy security.

In conclusion, although taking advantage of different platforms can be challenging, I am more convinced that its merits substantially outweigh its drawbacks.