Social media is becoming more and more trendy today, what are the advantages and disadvantages of using social media

For the last few years, usage of social media platforms among people increased significantly. While there are certain benefits to this, they are outweigh by the drawbacks.

From my point of view, there are some main benefits behind this situation. First and foremost is easy communication in different situations. Students who are studying abroad can easily keep in touch with their family member or friends. Consequently, it may maintains long distance relationships. Second upside is that, this phenomenon also helps with educational opportunities like wide range of online courses. Thereby, it provides them with access to quality education. People can learn essential informations and vital materials from softwares, such as Google and ChatGPT. As a result they might not have to dependent on teacher’s techniques.

When it comes to disadvantages of this phenomenon, there are two certain drawbacks. Firstly, spending time on social media causes face to face communication problem. This means that, using of social media platforms can not only hinder the development of interpersonal skills, for example conflict resolution, public speaking or team work, but also increase feelings of isolation and alienation. Secondly, mental health problems also plays significant role. Spending amount of time glued to electronic devices and televisions contributes to sedentary lifestyle and lack of physical activity. This factors can increase risk of illness such as obesity and cardiovascular issues.

In conclusion, students can easily communicate with their family members and have access to quality education. However, these advantages are overshadowed by the negative impact this shift had on their mental levels and communication skills.