Technology has made it easy to remotely communicate. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people use technology in order to keep in touch with others. Even though there are two heavy arguments of this being advantegous, I still think that cons outweigh them.

On the one hand, mobile phones are good tools for distant communication. Many people can rely on them in a case of studying or job opportunities after relocation if they want to stay in contact with their close ones and maintain their relationships. Additionally, this may stimulate a good mood. If one is away from their home and has geniune stress from being in an unknown area along with having no immediate associates, they can communicate with ones they are familiar with using technology, which may partly tackle this issue.

On the other hand, there are two main disadvantages of relying on technology to stay in contact with others. Firstly, this form of communication is not authentic. For many people, especially for the elders who are not particularly literate with technology, physical presence of an individual is much more appealing than looking at them through a screen. The experiences and bonds are not the same and this may develop an unwillingness to chat, thereby loosening ties in long-term. Secondly, this is unreliable. In distant areas such as woods or mountains, any sort of technology cannot exchange information properly because our technologies have not advanced to the point where we could be able to stay in contact in such remote places.

In conclusion, the case of people maintaining contact with others through technology is highly advantegous because of mobile phones and their opportunities of a stress-free life. However, in my opinion, the disadvantages such as inauthenticity and unreliability outweigh those.