Some adults think that children should be competitive. While some think children who focuses more on co-operation rather than competing become more useful adults.

Some adults think that children should be competitive. While some think children who focuses more on co-operation rather than competing become more useful adults. I understand why some people think competing is better than co-operation, but I strongly believe that being competitive is more important to become a useful adult in the future.

Firstly, why some adults think that sense of competition should be encouraged is because, if they children learn to compete with others they would get more experience. For example, children who are competitive doesn’t rely on others and they have learned how to be independent, so when a problem occurs, they can handle it on their own and learning new things thus leading them to get more experienced. Secondly children who are competitive tend to learn things faster than others. For example, Children who are more competitive don’t rely on others and are more experienced so they complete tasks quickly and efficiently. This independence teaches leads to personal growth. In this way, competition can help develop problem solving skills and self reliance, which is valuable in adulthood.

On the other hand, cooperation teaches children social skills that can be beneficial for both personal and professional life. Firstly, cooperating with others helps children learn how to work as a team. For example, children who work together or work with others on projects or assignments understands the importance of listening, sharing, respecting and caring. This skill is important in workplaces where teamwork is needed to do their work. Secondly, cooperation teaches children to respect others, to not step out of their boundaries, and to consider others perspectives. For example children who work in groups tend to support each other and create relations based on trust in each other, which builds a community. These skills are more important as they become adults. These children are better at working in diverse environments and they can maintain a peaceful relationship with probably anyone.

In conclusion, while competing can drive children to become independent and quick learners cooperation is more beneficial for their personal development. By learning to work together children learn essential life skills that are important for becoming more useful adults. Empathy, teamwork, and sense of community, comes with cooperation which are valuable qualities in adulthood. So, I strongly believe that cooperation should be encouraged more than competition in children.