Some argue that it is government’s job to make sure that people have their own places to reside, whilst other believe they should look after themselves. Personally, I agree with the former latter view and I will elaborate on both sides in the following.

On the one hand, housing as a basic human right should be guaranteed by governments. That is to say that every ordinary citizen deserves a place to shelter themselves in the event of financial turmoil. Therefore, governments have the duty to invest taxpayer’s money in public housing for people who stuggle to get by. A great example of that would be Singapore, a country that has established national housing committee to construct townhouses for the working class people with relatively lower incomes.

On the other hand, individuals ought to be responsible for their own livelihood, including housing themselves. This is because it takes arduous effort for construction workers to build up houses and apartment buildings. In this case, it is only fair for people to earn their own places by working hard to save up their money instead of being simply handed over a place to live in for free. For instance, in the state of California, the government implemented policies to provide homeless folks with houses to live in. Consequently, the policy ended up failing since they sabotaged the public properties with no appreciation for the free housing provided by the authorities.

In my view, I believe that people are entitled to own their places only if they work hard to obtain them, and the idea for governments to provide free housing would just be unrealistic.

To conclude, although individuals might need government’s financial subsidies to buy a house, it is ultimately their own responsibility when it comes to housing themselves.