Some argue that natural disasters are inevitable and cannot be fully prevented, while others believe that effective government policies and modern technology can minimize their impact. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Natural disasters cause fear and panic to the society and while some people think that it is possible to prevent it using technologies, others believe that it is inevitable. This essay will analyze both views and provide a personal point of view.

Some people claim that it is possible to prevent natural disasters with the use of modern technologies and innovated government policies. It is undeniable that technologies are prone to improve their preparedness and gives them more time to take certain measures. For instance , in case of an earthquake Government could prevent its consequences by building seismic-prone buildings and improving the alarm system. The innovated building system provides up to 9.0 magnitude earthquake protection and presents the feeling of safety. Alarm systems are able to detect initial tremors and instantly alert the citizens. These implementations can actually improve the awareness of people and make them more prepared for natural disasters.

Others believe that natural disasters are unpredictable and cannot be fully prevented. Most disasters happen suddenly and instantly affect cities, which means that even government’s policies and innovated infrastructure will not be able to predict a destructive effect. While tornados, droughts and floods can be predicted and therefore prevented, earthquakes and avalanches occur abruptly. The Intensity of these calamities also differ and in cases of high intensity, no technologies and infrastructure can cooperate. Moreover, families with low income range are ought to face consequences of disasters as they do not have enough money to evacuate. To illustrate, during a recent Milton hurricane warning, which was identified as the latest most powerful hurricane, 30% of families in Florida had to stay at home and not take any measures in order to protect themselves because of insufficient funds.

To conclude, from the facts and arguments given, I firmly believe that natural disasters are unpreventable. Even though technologies present us with an opportunity to be aware of an upcoming calamity as it is unpredictable and some society classes will not be able to prevent it due to the lack of finances.