Some believe children should be taught to give speeches and presentations in school. Why is this? What other skills do you think it is important to be taught in schools?

It is argued that giving speeches and presentations should be part of the school curriculum. This essay will first discuss how this skill is vital for the students’ future careers and then suggest that it is equally important to teach regular communication skills in schools.

Being able to give effective speeches and presentations is an important skill to have in many professions. In many jobs it is quite common to present an idea to colleagues or superiors, and the better someone is at giving speeches, the more likely they are to do well in their profession. Additionally, this skill builds confidence and helps overcome the fear of talking to a larger group of people, which can help reduce anxiety in the workplace. For example, educators at universities who are able to talk confidently and effectively in front of their students are usually considered as good teachers and enjoy their jobs more.

Basic communication is another vital skill that pupils should learn in school. This is because being able to talk in front of an audience is not the same as having an effective conversation and should therefore be seen as an additional skill. It is pivotal to know how to properly communicate, as communication is happening all the time in different shapes and forms. Good communication skills can be conducive to job and personal relationships. For instance, young individuals with great communication skills will most likely be more successful in job interviews because they have learned how to clearly convey thoughts and ideas.

In conclusion, teaching children how to properly give speeches and presentations gives them advantages in their future jobs, which is also true for basic communication skills, which is why these should also be taught at school.