Some believe children should be taught to give speeches and presentations in school. Why is this? What other skills do you think it is important to be taught in schools?

Some people think that school should teach children how to give speeches and presentations. This essay will first discuss the main reason as it prepares students to enrol in university and then suggest that time management and digital literacy should also be taught in schools.

It is part of the schools’ responsibilities in ensuring that their students have the skills of presenting ideas in front of others because this is viable for students to further studies in tertiary education. Students who have mastered these in schools are more confident and reflect a professional image, making them to have higher opportunities to be enrolled in university programmes. For example, most healthcare courses offered by universities in Malaysia recruit students through interview in order to assess their soft skills.

Time management and digital literacy are another two skills that children should be mastered in schools. When students are given multiple tasks at a moment, they should manage their time and know how to prioritize according to the priority in order to complete all tasks on time. This enables an increase in productivity and prevents them from being stress up at the end. Additionally, children should also explore digital literacy in schools due to the advancement of technology and artificial intelligent. In other words, students should at least know how to use online platforms for real-time conversations and effectively search for information. If they are going for a job interview in the future, candidates with well-developed digital literacy skills are highly likely to secure an employment compared to those who do not. For example, the majority of employees in the world were using digital media to work from home during Covid pandemic period.

In conclusion, children should learn how to give speeches and presentation in schools as a preparation to enter university. Time management and digital literacy are another two important skills that should be explored in schools for the same purpose.