Some believe children should be taught to give speeches and presentations in school. Why is this? What other skills do you think it is important to be taught in schools?

Some people consider that public speaking should be introduced in children’s education. This essay will explain why this is crucial for expressing ideas accurately in a wide variety of situations and why including teamwork is essential for their professional future.

Learning how to speak in a presentation will provide children a lot of resources which will be useful when they grow up. According to this, expressing their ideas clearly and knowing how to attract others attention is fundamental in both professional and personal situations. Therefore, if this skill is taught properly, children will be able to debate with a friend and introduce themselves in a job interview which will bring them improvements. For example, Pedro Sánchez, Spain’s president, who is one of the most successful and renowned people in Spain, reached the presidency due to his perfect presentation skills.

On the other hand, another main skill that should be taught is teamwork, because nowadays almost every job position involves working with a team. Furthermore, this specific ability will teach them other values such as helping others, assertive communication and handling personal relationships, very useful for every interaction of life. For instance, recent research has demonstrated that Norwegian schools which educational system is based on teamwork since nursing school have 50% fewer bullying cases since they started implementing this system.

To conclude, while learning how to do speeches will lead to more successful personal and professional relationships, teamwork is a prime skill which enhances many other social abilities and is crucial for their future.