Shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drink that has been scientifically proved to be bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (Agree or Disagree)

Nowadays there is an ongoing debate whether products, such as food or drink should be sold by shops if they are proven to have bad influence on people’s health. Although junk food is cheap and available for almost everyone, people should be responsible for themselves in terms of what they eat, I think that a large proportion of society are unconscious about some bad consequences on their health. In the long term it may lead to unhealthy society as well.

In recent years, shops have become accessible to almost everyone, so they must be highly controlled. To some extend selling unhealthy food or drink may have some benefits because its mostly cheap and even people who live in a poor conditions can affort it. As a result, global famine is decreasing. Furthermore, every single person should decide what to eat by himself and be responsible for it. No one can force anyone to buy something without agreement. For instance, many costumers really keen on junk food, such as sausages, fizzy drinks, chips, and crisps according to its bright taste, so they will continue to buy these kind of products.

Despite the possible advantages, I believe the disadvantages completely outweigh them. The most significant problem is that many people are unconscious about damaging effects on their mental and physical well-being though consuming junk food and drink. To illustrate, these products contain the lower grade of vegetables, chemical additives, or the high content of palm oil and sugar, which are extremely harmful. As a consequence, large population would become addictive to these products and suffers from obesity, diabetes, and cardiovascular issues. Additionally, I think it is a bit selfish for companies to sell products which can have a negative impact on the health of people, just for commercial reasons in order to make money, and thus the government places people’s health out of priority.

In conclusion, while junk food is both affordable and delicious, I believe the government should consider banning these products to decrease the incidence of illness.