Historical objects should be returned around the world to their country of origin. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays all countries have a lot of well-known historical objects and artefacts. There is a debate about whether historical items and antiquities should be returned to their country of origin. I will give my personal opinion below with relevant examples.

Firstly, there are several reasons why antiquities should be brought back to their country of origin. Historical objects are an essential part of a nation’s cultural heritage and they belong to the culture and people who created them. If the historical objects in their countries of origin, people can learn their real history from directly in their own country. For instance, if they are in their own country, also younger people can learn their cultural heritage and it helps them critical thinking, and it promotes tourism.

On the other hand, some museum in Europe have better conservation technology, so historical objects may safer abroad rather than country of origin. Museums like the British Museum allow international visitors to see world history in one place, it enables both domestic and international audiences to observe and learn about them.

In conclusion, while some believe historical artifacts should remain in international museums, I strongly agree that they ought to be returned to their countries of origin due to cultural and ethical reasons.