Historical objects should be returned around the world to their country of origin. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The repatriation of historical artefacts is a precarious balancing act, with some claiming that these objects should retain their current positions. While I concede that fragile artefacts can lose value and integrity when transported, I firmly hold the view that traditional relics of the past should be brought back to their original nations.

Critics and advocates alike reach a consensus on one major point: previously stolen or illegally owned historical objects should remain in respective countries. The fundamental argument for this agreement is global accessibility and strong cooperation between different nations. Since some artefacts, including but not limited to musical instruments, weapons, artistic works, and exhibitions are showcased by local museums or galleries all over the world, this fosters a sense of community and cultural awareness. For context, schools’ ethos can be portrayed in negative light, chiefly because of theoretical and mundane history lessons; however, international museum blockbusters and masterpieces can provide students with the means to contextualize their knowledge by going to cultural institutions with subject specialists and classmates. Equally preoccupying is the fact that historical objects owned by some nations might be brittle and less robust, which constrains transportation and relocation. This is not to mention underutilisation of such culturally significant artefacts: some local museums can place these traditional items under squalid and inappropriate conditions, which eventually contributes to a loss of historical value and relevance. A striking example of this is SOAS University of London’s Endangered Language Archives, which rescues some artefacts such as historical records, artistic sculptures, and figures from deteriorition and decoloration in areas where these objects are neglected and bound to decay. Thus, there is a kernel of truth highlighted by some people: repatriating historical artefacts fails under the sheer number of issues such as transferring constraints and dismisses the value of global cooperation and cultural exchange.

Bracketing the issue of repatriation, I strongly believe that by bringing catalogues of traditionally lost or purloined items, museums can drive heritage tourism, entice people from all corners of a country, and address colonial injustice. First and foremost, given that historical pieces of the past and memorabilia are lost in the mists of history and left in non-native countries, traditional knowledge, cultural immersion, and a sense of belonging fade into obscurity. Manchester museum, for example, prevented this from happening and escalating on an unsustainable level, as it returned artefacts and musical instruments to Australian indigenous communities and therefore allowing for cultural dedication and awareness. Furthermore, some argue that items should be kept in museum storages in current nations rather than given back to homelands due to technological breakthroughs. Indeed, technology and digital platforms like virtual museums and visual three-dimensional images shed light on traditional artefacts, breaking down geographical barriers. However, this does not invalidate the significance of real-life experience and tactile experience; when local communities marvel at culturally essential objects in person, this experience offers a combination of discovery, intellectual stimulation, and relaxation. Lastly, the repatriation of vast collections of items back to their country of origin can help identify historical enigmas, settle justice, and facilitate harmony. Some countries, for example, reclaim their history as independent nations; even though in the past some emerging economies were unsustainable and unreliable, they achieved prosperity and gained vast curatorial expertise in modern times. Viewed collectively, my conviction is that historical objects should be brought back to their homelands to help communities assimilate cultural knowledge, reduce technological obsession, and tackle unfairness.

In summary, I acknowledge that conventional items can be too obsolete and fragile to be transported across large distances; more to the point, they lay the groundwork for cultural exchange and international collaboration. This notwithstanding, my perspective is that a wide range of lost or illegally obtained historical objects should be repatriated to nations where initial roots were established by those items.