International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

International tourism has brought significant socioeconomic benefits to many cities, historical sites, and countries. It can revitalise previously underdeveloped areas, turning them into busy commercial centres. However, it may also lead to environmental damage and social pressures on local communities. While tourism can stimulate both local and national economies and encourage cultural exchange, it also has drawbacks, including increased pollution and the potential damage caused by irresponsible tourists to landmarks and infrastructure. These disadvantages outweigh the advantages of tourism.

One major advantage of tourism is the remarkable economic support it provides. Tourism can genuinely help struggling economies by providing a stable and reliable form of economic growth. When a tourist visits a country, they spend money on accommodation, food, sightseeing, entertainment, and much more, which could greatly support local businesses and government organizations. In addition, tourists tend to spend more on average than local citizens, which has the potential to strengthen a country’s economy if enough tourists do decide to visit it. Furthermore, tourism promotes multiculturalism which opens a country’s citizens to new, different perspectives and could facilitate cultural exchange between a resident and a tourist. This can be beneficial to a country’s society as multiculturalism fosters societal development, and has several economic benefits. For example, Egypt, a country filled with ancient artifacts and history, welcomes hundreds of thousands of tourists annually. As a consequence, Egypt’s tourism sector accounts for a major part of its economy and has helped support it and compensate for other declining sectors over the past few years.

However, international tourism also has its disadvantages. Increased tourist numbers can bring about pollution in various forms. While it causes some conventional forms of pollution such as environmental and air pollution, it also directly leads to other forms of pollution. An important but often neglected form of pollution is noise pollution. Large volumes of tourists mean more talking and shouting, more cars on the road, and increased overall noise levels. All of these activities cause sound pollution, which can genuinely harm both the mental and physical health of local citizens, as it can instill irritation or anger, and it can also cause hearing loss and migraines. This can reduce the satisfaction of a local population, which may lead to many citizens emigrating from the area to other cities or even countries. Moreover, reckless or irresponsible tourists could damage critical infrastructure or historic monuments. Furthermore, gradual degradation (such as wear and tear or corrosion) of monuments can be sped up due to the increased contact with skin coming from the large volumes of tourists touching them, causing wear or discolouration. Ultimately, locals have to bear these repair costs through taxes or other means. Therefore, it can be asserted that the drawbacks of tourism outweigh its benefits, as it causes medical, mental, and environmental issues, and may even trigger an exodus of local residents leaving their hometowns, creating an emergency at the local and national levels.

To conclude, tourism is a critical component of a country’s economy which can help struggling countries and cities in drastic ways. It can be clearly seen that tourism has advantages, such as reinforcing multiculturalism and stimulating local economies. However, it can also be inferred that tourism has disadvantages that outweigh the advantages, particularly due to greater volumes of pollution and the degradation of important local landmarks due to increased tourism.