Some governments are considering implementing a universal basic income, where every citizen receives a set amount of money regularly regardless of their employment status. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

A number of governments are considering applying a wordlwide standard income, where everyone recieves the same value of money not caring about the persons role. While this could make give everyone equal standards of living, it also disregards peoples’ effort doing a harder job. In this essay i will be going through the advantages and disadvantages of implementing this decision and stating my opinion.

Providing everyone in the world with the same amount of money would mean everyone is equal. the feeling of missing out on doing something unaffordable woould almost be gone with this decision. Everyone is paid the same, therefore, everyone gets the same choices. For instance, no more kids would have to get jealous or feel sad because their peers have prettier clothes they cant seem to afford. No more parents would have to blame themselves for not being able to provide for their children like some others can.

While that would be great for the standard of living globally, no more people would be willing to take on the harder jobs just to recieve the same amount of pay. Disregarding the effort a computer engineer or a doctor puts into their work and studying, then giving them the same income as a waiter would definitely discourage people from taking on these hard trails. And soon enough, there would be a shortage of workers in these essential fields with no one willing to fill in.

Ending this essay, the disadvantages of enforcing a worldwide income that everyone has to earn regardlessof their role in society outweigh the advantages in my opinion. Although you get equal quality of life, you never get appreciated for the extra effort you put in; the word “earn” loses its meaning.