Students in school should learn academic subjects and pass exam. Other skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwark can be learnt well from family and friends. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that educational institutes need to focus on only academic courses such as Math, English, and Science for great academic results and to pass the examination. While others believe real-life skills should be learned at home through parents or other members, and I totally agree with this statement.

There are a number of reasons why schools should not be allowed to teach practical skills. One main reason is that it may harm academic results. By focusing on other areas of teaching, teachers may give less attention to the main subjects. As a result, students with poor learning ability may face difficulties. Another possible reason is that the major subjects are not meant to be learned at home, as they need practical and experienced teachers for lectures. For example, science-related subjects need a lab class to demonstrate how science works. This cannot be taught without teachers.

In addition, school has certain time limitations; therefore, school authorities cannot give time to students to teach an extra subject expect main ones. Furthermore, to learn cookery, dress-making, or woodcrafting skills, learners need a lot of equipment, and schools cannot afford to buy it, especially government schools. For instance, in underdeveloped countries, the government schools do not have all the facilities, which are essential for both students and teachers. Consequently, it becomes hard for them to adjust to it and give proper education to students.

In conclusion, although practical skills are as important as academic skills, I would argue that educational institutes need to only focus on important subjects, and parents should take the responsibility of teaching practical skills.