Students in school should learn academic subjects and pass exam. Other skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwark can be learnt well from family and friends. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that practical life skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should stay out of academic spaces and schools should focus on passing examinations and succeeding academically. I fully disagree and would argue that such skills should be taught at school and not expected from just family and friends.

First, it is a misconception that teaching strategies should only be narrowed down to the academic syllabus and test success. Teaching practical skills, especially to young students, is often overlooked in academic settings due to the fact that learning them at home helps students acquire them more practically with deeper understanding. However, incorporating a diverse set of skills into the curriculum promotes a well-rounded and diverse education, catering to many different needs. For instance, not all students may excel in academics, but when given the opportunity to discover alternatives, schools can help students get more than just scores out of an education, who otherwise might have fallen behind. Some have a natural talent for woodworking, while others may not have a family functional enough to help them pursue their passion of dressmaking. By nurturing skillsets alongside healthy academic environments, schools allow a student to gain a sense of purpose for their efforts, leading to higher motivation and academic success.

Second, the shift from ‘knowing things’ to ‘knowing what to do with things’ is critical for an education which prepares students for a rapidly evolving world. Without a fully developed skillset, whether essential or necessary for their career path, a student loses their baseline for survival in our society. A student studying to become a nutritionist may know the value of nutrients, but won’t be able to grasp the knowledge of meal planning and culinary techniques. This can be prevented by ensuring time at school is used up in a way that will help a student in the long-run, not just for examinations that will come and go.

In conclusion, rather than just relying on families and friends, schools should incorporate different skills into their curriculums while also maintaining the standards for critical core subjects. By disagreeing with this statement, the education students receive will be more comprehensive, ensuring their full development.