Students in school should learn academic subjects and pass exam. Other skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwark can be learnt well from family and friends. Do you agree or disagree?

A significant number of individuals think that schools and universities should focus solely on teaching academic subjects and preparing students for formal examinations. In this essay, I shall discuss why skills should also be taught in universities.

First, teaching strategies should not be limited to a narrow focus on academic subjects and test success. Not all students will be able to carve out successful and fantastic job opportunities in fields such as Law, Medicine, Finance, or Education. For instance, fresh law graduates will find it hard to find client since they are new and lack of experience compared to those who have been in the business for a long time. While some vocational skills open doors for success, cooking, for instance, has made numerous people succeed in the food business industry. So if life skills are taught during their university days, they could use this as an opportunity for a side hustle income.

Second, children need to learn practical skills to prepare them for the future, and it is not guaranteed that family members or friends can teach various life skills, as people can have different hobbies or interests. Moreover, there are some cases of dysfunctional families where, for whatever reason, parents don’t get themselves involved in raising their children. Nevertheless, for children to learn those domestic skills, they would think of the school as the only place that can help them acquire skills. Otherwise, as they grow up, they will have to rely on fast food, pre-made meals, easily replace furniture or clothes, when all they really need is a simple repair.

In conclusion, schools should be the place for equal learning, both academic and life skills, to ensure the full development of children.