Students in school should learn academic subjects and pass exam. Other skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwark can be learnt well from family and friends. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that schools should give much priority to the important subjects rather than teaching practical skills such as cookery, dressmaking, and wood crafting. Although both are crucial for student development, I personally disagree with the view, as practical skills can help a student to survive in the future.

Practical life skills such as cookery, dressmaking, and wood crafting should be taught at school because they are essential for independence. In other words, if a student learns this practical skills, they can manage everyday tasks without depending on others. For instance, in China, the main aim of schools is to teach their students craft and DIY work because students who learn this skill are more creative than others. Thus, practical skill is a thing that can change one’s life.

Another major reason is studying only academic subjects is boring and stressful. This means that, when a student goes to school every day just to get theoretical knowledge, they will not find any interest in it. For example, many students nowadays stop going to school due to institutions not providing any recreational activities.

In conclusion, although both academic subjects and practical skills are equally important, I strongly believe that practical skills benefits are greater than education, as it gives a sense of freedom.