Shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drink that has been scientifically proved to be bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (Agree or Disagree)

There are those who believe that governments should impose an official ban on food and beverages which are found to have detrimental effects on human health. Personally, while this idea holds some merits, I disagree with this statement due to more effective measures.

On the one hand, there are some major reasons that explain why people endorse prohibiting unhealthy food and drinks. Due to lack of information and knowledge about food products, individuals are often influenced by sellers or advertising, leading them to purchase the harmful items. Therefore, the government prohibition of these products would deter the unhealthy consumption of citizens. Besides, the rising healthcare system costs should not be overlooked. In recent years, the chronic diseases such as diabetes, obesity, cardiovascular problems which resulted from unhealthy diets, have become more prevalent around the world. This leads to a huge state budget for public health, causing governments to divert funds from other sectors such as the economy, infrastructure and education. As a result, it is necessary to prohibit the sale of harmful food and drinks to maintain public health.

On the other hand, opponents of this previous view point out that it is an ineffective method. First and foremost, the adverse effects of consuming harmful foods like deep-fried items or sugary carbonated drinks, depend on the frequency and quantity of their intake. For instance, enjoying a piece of pizza once a month, if individuals have regular exercises, it will not harm their weight and health. Additionally, the underlying root comes from the citizens’ awareness. Therefore, diet education becomes more important than banning the sale of any foods and drinks. The policy makers should raise public awareness by encouraging regular workouts, taking part in outdoor activities, educating about daily food choices. This results in people consciousness about daily consumptions and avoiding unhealthy habits, contributing to the alleviation of public healthcare costs and freedom of choices.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on determining whether completely prohibition of food and drinks that proven to be bad for people health, I believe that the government should encourage good behavior in food choices.