Some believe children should be taught to give speeches and presentations in school. Why is this? Should this be taught in schools?

It is widely accepted that schools have responsibilities to teach the students most of the essential life skills. From my perspective, since children are going to be the future leaders of the countries, they should be trained how to speak confidently in front of the public as well as to be familiar with IT techniques.

The main reason why children should be encouraged to construct confidence in speeches and presentations is that these skills will be needed throughout their academic lives. For instance, students will be assigned to present the projects in groups or individually at the higher education level and also in their future career fields. Obviously, this will be a challenging task for a person who has not had any experience. Furthermore, confident speaking cannot be practiced within one day, as it is the result of careful preparations and repeated practices.

On the other hand, schools should add communication activities to the curriculums. It is certain that most of the students will be shy or afraid of speaking and presenting in front of the class at first. However, if the teachers train them with lots of class performances, such as PowerPoint presentations, they will develop both self-assurance and computer proficiency.

All in all, there is no doubt that school can create a friendly atmosphere for the youngsters, and therefore, it is the best place to build these beneficial skills since their childhoods. As a result, the next generation will be proficient in soft skills in both professional social contexts.