Some believe that children should do homework daily, other says it is unnecessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A portion of population argues that children ought to do homework everyday, while some individuals believe that it is unnecessary. In my opinion, I think that although homework can enable children to learn about reviewing and responsibilities, it can, in the long run, cause burnout and unbalanced life.

On the one hand, advocates of doing homework daily argue that it allows pupils to get a lesson about reviewing. This is because they have to review what is taught in the class which can help them to have higher retention from regular revision. Furthermore, given homework daily can be the key to learn responsibilities. This situation will encourage children that they have responsibilities as students, such as studying. This will train them to be responsible adults in the future. For instance, a study shows that children who get homework daily are likely in achieving higher score reports than those who do not.

On the other hand, opponents of having homework daily think that it could lead to burnout. This is because children have spend a half of their day at school, therefore, extra time for learning at home is not needed because they have other things to do while they are home. Another point to consider is that daily homework can lessen their time to do activities such as sports which can, over time, hinder children to learn other skills out of academic lessons. In Finland, for instance, pupils get lighter homework loads but still perform well. I maintain that more homework does not ultimately make children better in all aspects as it prevents them to work on other life skills, such as social skill.

In conclusion, regular homework can bring about numerous advantages, such as reviewing lesson and responsibility. However, I believe that the downsides of it should be considered because it can cause burnout and unbalanced life.