Some believe that tackling environmental issues should be managed by a global organization instead of being handled individually by national governments. Do you agree or disagree with this belief?

It is widely believed that international organizations should be held accountable for addressing related- environment problems rather than national responsibility. While acknowledging the rationales behind this thinking, I strongly believe that a concerted collaboration between global organization and countries’ duty can act as an effective way to combat the problem effectively.

Granted, it is understandable why global organizations should be in charge of the management of environmental issues. It is true that the establishment of the organizations have a primary function in proposing some sustainable and optimal methods to deal with complex environmental issues since these organizations have some leading experts or top-ranking officials who have an ability to analyze the deep-rooted causes of environmental complications and collect some informative initiatives from other organizations, thereby giving the best and efficient solutions in reducing the environmental consequences. More importantly, international organizations can aid financial resources to the poorer countries which are struggling with inefficient waste management and obsolete infrastructures in coping with environmental issues to repair the environmental consequences. For example, the United Nations has funded several projects aimed at improving waste treatment and water purification systems in the Mekong River region, helping to reduce pollution and protect ecosystems.

While the significant role of the international organization can be evident, the role of the national government should not be glossed over. First and foremost, the municipal officials who make sense of the core nature and environmental problems rather than external support can deploy proactive measures which are tailored to specific cultural, social and geographical contexts. For example, soil degradation in Lam Dong province stems from the lack of regular supervisions in vulnerable geological zones as well as individuals’ irresponsibility, leading to environmental calamities. Therefore, local authorities who get a grasp of geographical features propose a more feasible and efficient way to address these environmental challenges. In addition, the collective collaboration between organizations and individual nations could be more beneficial and sustainable. This means single nations should present current challenges in combating environmental problems while international organizations could share the burdens by pooling resources, imparting knowledge and driving technological innovation, thereby putting an end to the root of problems timely. The Paris Agreement, for instance, represents an international commitment to combat climate change. Such global initiatives not only set shared goals but also foster a sense of global solidarity in facing common challenges.

In conclusion, while cross- boundary initiatives play a pivotal role in addressing specific environmental challenges, the cohesive coordination between countries and international organizations can ensure the long-term and productive solutions. By coming together as a global community, we can harness our collective resources and expertise to protect the Earth.