Some believe that tourism does more to create tension between countries rather than helping individuals better understand other cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a growing public opinion that tourism create tension in international relations than helping people learn other cultures. I partially disagree with this notion, because tourism contributes significantly to economic growth and promotes cultural understanding; however, some tourists can behave disrespectful to the countries culture and create tension between countries.

First of all, nowadays tourism plays significant role on the countries financial system. When tourists travel abroad, they spend money on transportation, entertainment, museums, hotels and food. This creates job opportunities for local people and increase national income. As a result, countries get economically benefits from tourist that came to visit their countries, which can create better international relations.

Secondly, tourism promotes cultural understanding by allowing people to experience other countries cultures. Tourist learn about countries history, local traditions and their foods. Tourists can interact with local residents and build international friendships which helps individuals be more open minded. This cultural exchange helps them respect other countries background and build mutual understanding between nations.

However, it is true that some tourists may act disrespectful toward local customs and traditions. They travel to other countries but do not have any information about countries culture and do not pay attentions to things that are more crucial to locals which can make local people be angry and affect government. In addition, tourist show their own culture in other countries and this can create arguments between countries.

In conclusion, I partially disagree with the view that tourism mainly creates tension. Tourism supports economic development and cultural understanding; however, small number of tourists may behave disrespectful.