Some believe that tourism does more to create tension between countries rather than helping individuals better understand other cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is growing public opinion that tourism creates tension in international relations rather than helping individuals better understand other cultures. I partially agree with this notion because it can cause disneyfication and bring some changes to countries’ economies. However, tourism has a positive side, like providing a first-hand understanding of cultures.

Many factors support the idea that tourism creates tensions between countries. One of the most essential factors is disneyfication. It means that local culture becomes more commonized by foreigners. They travel to other countries but do not have enough information about citizens’ norms and cultures. Thus, they do not pay much attention to things that are more crucial for locals. At this time, people may become angry, and it can affect the government. Citizens want to influence government policy through parties, and then the government may change its policy toward foreign countries. In addition to this, tourists show their own countries’ cultures. As well as this, governments want others to respect their national beliefs. If they do not show any respect for this, arguments can arise at the government level. For instance, in European countries, there are visa policies that make travel safer and more secure for people. These states have specific institutions for controlling tourists’ cultures and social conditions.

An alternative consideration is the changes in the economy. Today, many countries want to stabilize and develop their own economies, but tourism affects economic development. Tourists come with their national currencies and spend their own money, but it affects the local government’s currency. The local currency decreases, and at the same time, foreign money increases. This can create tension because governments want money to remain in the country and sustain themselves financially. After that, governments apply limits on the exchange of currency, and people do not want to travel to these countries. Furthermore, it can affect local people’s lifestyles because the value of money decreases and then the prices of goods increase. It contributes to agreements, which are the most important components of the HDI. For example, in Turkey, tourism is one of the most important sources of income. Annually, millions of tourists travel and spend money in foreign currencies such as euros or dollars. While this brings revenue, it also increases dependence on foreign currency and causes the local currency to lose value.

On the other hand, tourism has a positive side. Foreigners can see and analyze things first-hand. Many people like to know and see different cultures, but sometimes alternative ways cannot be imagined visually or shown completely. At this time, tourism provides the chance to avoid creating stereotypes, which affect countries’ relations. Governments want to show their own histories and cultures. As a consequence, if people want to learn deeply, they must travel to other countries, because people can observe directly and tourists can become part of local life. For example, in the European Union, people can easily travel to all EU countries, which strengthens relations between countries.

To sum up, in light of the aforesaid factors, I partially agree with this belief because it can cause disneyfication and harmful changes in countries’ economies. However, tourism has a positive side, like providing a first-hand understanding of cultures.