Some believe wealthy nations should provide substantial assistance to developing countries. Others argue local solutions are more effectively than external aid. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Nowadays, with the development of industrialization and modernization, there is a controversial issue about whether wealthy countries should provide substantial support to developing nations or whether these nations should rely on their own efforts to develop. In this discussion, I present both perspectives and share my personal opinion.

On the one hand, financial assistance from wealthy nations is necessary. Firstly, the financial investment of first-world countries addresses budget deficits and builds infrastructure in poor countries. Clearly, aid from international organizations plays a vital role in improving living conditions because many developing countries lack the financial capacity to invest in essential infrastructure. In addition to money, developed countries provide advanced technology and modern techniques. For example, Japan not only provides funding to Vietnam but also supports the train training of engineers and urban planners.

On the other hand, the nations should strive to grow independently because of some following reasons. The first reason is that financial assistance often does not reach intended receivers because it is misused by corruption, poor management, and mismatched goals. Obviously, corrupt government officials use this money for their own sake, while those in real need receive little or nothing at all. Another reason that needs to be considered is that giving money to poor countries does not help address the root causes of poverty. It means that a lack of access to basic education causes underdeveloped countries to get stuck in a vicious cycle of extreme poverty.

In conclusion, the outstanding phenomenon mentioned above has highlighted the positive and negative impacts of foreign investment on developing countries. As far as I am concerned, I believe that a combination of both approaches is the most effective.