Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

Many countries have imposed regulations in order to limit working-hours. This development can be attributed to a set of key factors, bringing many advantages for workers.

A compelling reason for introduction of statutory working-hour limits is to improve employee performance. When the workforce is required to work excessive amounts of time, there is a high likelihood of decline in productivity and concentration. This, over time, leads to lower workplace efficiency, thereby affecting the quality of work done by employees. Moreover, heavy workloads not only affect the performance of the staff, but also create health-related problems, such as stress. By dedicating most of their time to the work, workers sometimes ignore many problems, threatening their mental well-being. Consequently, they take their toll on employees’ psychological conditions, leading to profound burnout.

Moreover, this trend is advantageous as it offers many benefits, particularly better work-life balance and more leisure time to relax. The more people work, the less time they have to fulfill their family responsibilities. However, having set practical rules to limit working hours, people might spend quality time with their families. Additionally, well-rested workers tend to perform more effectively at work. Therefore, having extra time to pursue personal interests and having enough time for social activities is crucial.

In conclusion, the introduction of working-time related rules is deeply rooted in enhancing employees’ performance and reducing the risk of health-related problems. Moreover, this development has a lot of merits; they mainly include better work-life balance and adequate time to rest and recharge.