Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

There is a growing trend where laws are introduced to restrict working hours for employees. While this shift can largely attributed to the protection of employees’ physical and mental health, I personally believe that it is predominantly advantageous, particularly in terms of improved productivity and efficiency.

One compelling reason why governments limit working overtime is to ensure people’s well-being. With many people working more than usual, they tend to get serious health problems, such as chronic fatigue, sleep deprivation, and stress-related illnesses. The implications are not confined to health problems but also reduced productivity in companies, ultimately causing the closure of firms. A perfect case in point would be Japan’s phenomenon, karoshi (a death from overwork) prompted authorities to establish strict overtime regulations. These laws aim to reduce extreme working hours and protect the workers from getting diseases as well as the prospects of companies. Therefore, security of both employees’ well-being and firms serves as one of the primary driving forces behind restricting extended working hours.

However, I strongly presume that this trend brings more benefits than drawbacks. Perhaps the most significant advantage is enhanced productivity and competence. By working during regular hours, workers are more likely to be well-rested, which can improve their focus, motivation, and efficiency. Consequently, these individuals become more focused on their tasks and are tend to attribute to the companies’ improvement.

That said, this tendency is not without its disadvantages. Companies may face higher operational costs and reduced flexibility. For example, during busy seasons, companies may need employees to work longer hours. Legal restrictions can limit their ability to scale operations quickly, potentially reducing profits. Nevertheless, these drawbacks are relatively minor when compared to the long-term benefits of enhanced productivity and efficiency.

In conclusion, although people’s mental and physical health is the main reason why governments limit working hours, I am more convinced that the advantages – especially productivity and efficiency far outweigh its perceived disadvantages.