Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Mobile phones, nowadays, contains essential features with entertainment also. There has been a

large growth seen in usage hours of smartphones among youngsters. There are several reasons

behind this situation and I find this development more beneficial than negative. Both the reasons

and my view is elaborated further.

The first reason for overusage of smart devices by youngsters is the social benefit they provide.

The smart phone connected with internet opens up the large possibilities, from creating new friends

to communicating with them over social media. For instance, a child in my neighbourhood chats

for hours with his school friends over Facebook (a social media) and also spend time over online

video sharing phone application. Moreover, the mobile gaming, specially multiplayer games, is

another major reason for the situation. Children plays different kind of games over mobile for the

entertainment purpose and they involve themselves in games in such a manner, that they forget

about the timing and other work to do.

However, I believe that smartphones have also increased the knowledge of pupils. It has developed

some important social skills, such as communication skill, team work and many more, by allowing

them to work and play in groups, without the restriction of distance. In addition, children can

learn through internet by watchin online videos and reading articles, which ultimately helps them

in their studies as well as language skills. For example, whenever my niece require to know about

something, he searches it over the internet and learns from it. Moreover, multiplayer online gaming

improves their multitasking ability and it also gives them a competitive environment

Overall, I agree that overusage of smartphones on regular basis is harmful for them, but if given

proper guidance, mobile phones can help them in learning some life-long skills.