Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In contemporary society, kids spend prolonged period of time on using technological devices. From my perspective, the rationale for this is twofold and, such a phenomenon has negatively affected the youngsters.

One of the primary reasons for this case is the technological advancement. To elaborate, by virtue of the development of technology, smartphones production has been easier than ever. Therefore, such devices are becoming widely distributed and accessible to everyone with an affordable price. Another noticeable explanation, is the attractiveness of online platforms such as facebook, instagram or twitter. Specifically, these websites use an algorithm, which recommends videos and posts based on profound analysis of users’ interest and trendy trends. Hence, influential in vulnerable individuals, especially adolescents, making them lingering online.

Looking on the bright side, smartphones could be a source of educational entertainment for children. To be more specific, children can absorb ethical values and other knowledge in biology, geography and history also if they are provided with they legitimate contents. For instance, an intelligent 12 years old boy in Vietnam has recently shocked the press by learning three distinguished languages through animated Youtube videos. Not only informational but using phones or computers can also helps kids to be more familiar to technological devices overall. This could be a huge advantage for them sooner or later as technologies are managed to become an integral and imperative aspect of the future world.

On the other hand, there are several hindrances that could be addressed such as the effects on children’s health. A research has shown that over 80% of adolescents worldwide are having visual impairments and, three-fourths of these circumstances are the result of staring at smartphone screens for a long period. Mentally speaking, as youngsters are vulnerable and easily influenced, an unethical mindset could be incurred by watching and playing inappropriate sexual and violent videos or games. Additionally, spending to much time one smartphones will decrease children’s social interactions, hence, kids might incur loneliness and become more dependent on phones. Not only could this leads to mental illness among youngsters, but also worst conditions such as autism or anti-social.

In conclusion, using smartphones or other technologies could be beneficial to kids. Nonetheless, if being used at an early age, it could adversely affect them both physically and mentally, therefore, this should be put under parents’ supervisions or else could result in detrimental drawbacks and cause more loss and gains.