Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s busy and mechanized world, modern gadgets go hand in hand with human beings. The smartphone is one of a kind. Along with food, clothing, and shelter, it has become a basic necessity for living. With this gadget and the aid of the internet, the world is at our fingertips. Kids nowadays are glued to their mobile in the hunt for knowledge and updating themselves. I firmly believe this is a negative development.

The invention of cellular phones is a blessing in disguise for mankind. However, as every coin has two sides, it has proved a curse for some. Children hang out for hours on their small screens scrolling through the internet and playing games. This has adverse effects on their eyesight. To the surprise, the parents of such kids also dont understand the side effects of it and allow their little ones to operate phones. They are unaware of the repercussions that they will have to face in the near future. Research says, that swiping and scrolling mobile screens for long damages the eyesight of the individual and in some cases, there is a tendency for one may completely lose his/her vision. According to a survey in the USA, about one-fourth of the youth population is addicted to smartphones; around 68% of them use spectacles and the ones who wear such lenses are 7 to 10 years of age.

There was an article in the Times of India stating a boy of mere 9 years of age became blind as he used to binge-watch movies and web series every night in the dark and couldn’t sleep effectively. In 2021, an incident of a Kerala girl was the talk of the town for many days. The Fire broke into her house as the battery of her mobile phone exploded. This eventually resulted in her death. The reason behind the blast longer utilization of mobile according to the forensic team of investigation. Like these, there are many incidents in every nation across the globe where these young ones have to suffer.

No doubt smart gadgets are a boon for humans, but their utilization is solely dependent on us. These electronic devices have turned active kids into couch potatoes.