Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s society, more than a few kids occupy hours daily on their digital phones. It is becoming an addiction to most children nowadays. In my view, this is a negative development in the kids. This essay will express full agreement with this view and will offer reasons for this position.

Most parents are busy with their professions letting kids spend their time with smartphones rather than playing outside. Parents also think it is easy to keep them distracted while they do their work. This situation led kids to be addicted to smartphones from the infant stage. They think it will help the child to gain a lot of knowledge and learn quickly the technology. As an example, new-generation mothers who use social media platforms, abuse their kid’s life by putting their whole life through vlogs. Another instance is that schools tend to use technology in studies which leads youngsters to get smartphones earlier than expected.

Undoubtedly, there are a lot of negative impacts than positive impacts raised from the above situations. Kids get cyberbullied, get access to inappropriate content, gaming addictions and insane addictions to social media. When most children lose control over their smartphones and use them for unacceptable behaviours. Moreover, these situations led to suicides as well as murders.

In summary, although kids get knowledge over time through smartphones, if it becomes an addiction, it will have more negative effects than positive effects. Parents need to be always in control of the usage of the smartphones of their children.