Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Indubitably, children spend hours together on their mobile phones. This scenario occurs due to a plethora of reasons and indefinitely it is a negative development. This essay will discuss the possible reasons of such and issue and the consequences of it.

The advancements in technology has reduced the child’s interest towards outdoor play. To be more specific, children are comfortable playing games on phones and other devices because it keeps their mind occupied and they don’t see the need to play outside with kids of their own age. They become extremely comfortable in the digital world and forget that there is a world outside to it .To exemplify, a child will be more happy to spend his leisure time on his smart device rather than spending time outdoors.

As a consequence of not engaging in outdoor play, chronic diseases such as obesity has been on the rise. One cannot expect a child who is constantly sitting idle with a device in their hand to be physically healthy. When children refrain from performing any activity they are at a risk of developing different kinds of health conditions. Therefore ,children are turning out to be overweight and unhealthy. To exemplify, children who do not engage in outdoor play are prone to develop heart diseases and weight issues among many other complications.

To reiterate, the development of technology has resulted in the increased dependency of devices in children and this can have adverse outcomes such as developing health problems which are irreversible and can possibly lead to their death.