Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It can be seen that nowadays, more and more children are spending a great deal of time on their smartphones. In this essay, I will provide reasons for this trend, and I will argue that in my opinion, this tendency leads to detrimental effects in children’s lives.

To begin with, by technological developments phones transformed from a simple voice-based tool of communication, to a sleek multifunctional device, which support a wide range of tasks. In this way, these devices, help us to keep connected to the world, ordering food, playing games, watching movie, or even taking photos. Therefore, a smartphone might emerge as a wonder land for children. Kids see these devices as fancy toys which can produce a variety of entertainment for them. Such as, novel animation, or even setting up an arcade for them with countless games.

However, these amusing devices might be a potential threat to the children. Firstly, by accessing to the internet, these devices prevent children to experience physical world around them, and as a result, interfere in the natural process of trial and error in children’s lives. This interfere can damaged children’s cognitive growth. For instance, a kid could be familiar with snakes throughout the videos on YouTube, and hence, this kid never has enough patient for going on a trip on nature for visiting some of them, and meanwhile, by experiencing, develop his own picture about the real world. Secondly, by enormous games in different genres, these devices dissuade children of physical plays, and as a result, reduce their daily physical activities, which can be a background for prevalence physical issues, like obesity in children. Finaly, smartphones might be an underlying cause for educational drawbacks, and lack of concentration of pupils in the classrooms.

In conclusion, I think children are attracted by smartphones because of the capacity of these devices for entertaining them. Meanwhile, this trend has several negative impacts in children, like a drop in physical activities are done by children, and damaging their experience of the world.