Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, technology has advanced that smartphones are being used as multi-functional devices in daily lives. In this case, children also happen to keep in touch with the smartphones for hours every day. I personally believe that it is a negative development.

In today’s world, there is almost no one who does not have a smartphone. In other words, it means that almost every child around the globe has a chance to use a smartphone if their parents have one. Moreover, the features of the smartphones are very appealing for children to spend their time on the devices for many hours. For example, children are interested in playing games, and the smartphones offer obsessive types of games that includes multiple stages to play for a long time. Furthermore, children really love to use the mobile phones as they can watch their favorite cartoons and movies on these devices all the time.

Spending a lot of time on the smartphones leads to many disadvantages for children. One key drawback is that looking at the phone screen without taking a rest causes health issues for the children’s eyesight. They may wear glasses at a young age, and lose the ability to concentrate on something for a certain period. Another negative effect is that children could imitate inappropriate things via those devices. For instance, they might see some adults drinking alcohols and using drugs on one video, and it could lead the children to a wrong direction.

To sum up, children spending hours every day on their mobile phones is definitely a negative development.