Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In contemporary society, it has been a prevalent trend where parents place a burden on their offsprings by forcing them to succeed. This happens due to numerous reasons and gives rise to several drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay.

There are a plethora of rationales behind why adults keep putting pressure on their children. The foremost explanation is the fact that the world has become increasingly competitive for humans in almost every aspects, including education, and careers. As a consequence, parents are inclined to urge their minors to study laboriously from an early age in order to gain an edge over others, which is believed to be beneficial for the juveniles’ future. Apart from that, it is true that the proliferation of technology coincides with the development of entertaining platforms, which are the major culprits distracting children from their study. Therefore, parents put pressure on their minors so that the young generations can avoid interrupting factors and focus on their future goals.

This phenomenon can bring about a multitude of adverse impacts on the juveniles. The chief downside is that the children may fall victim to being over-stressed due to the relentless pressure from their parents. Consequently, it leads to severe mental illnesses in children and expands the gap between adults and their offsprings. Along with that, as teenagers are put under pressure from an early age, they would not have an opportunity to indulge themselves in fun and relaxing activities as they are supposed to, leading to their childhood being ruined and inappropriate mindsets being formed over time.

Taking everything into consideration, parents placing plenty burdens on their children is the result of a competitive society and minors being distracted from their education. This phenomenon can negatively affect the teenagers, especially their mental health.