Some cities create extra housing by building tall buildings. Other cities do this by building on wide areas of land. Which do you think is the best solution to the problem of housing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, housing is a major issue for modern urban areas. In order to find a suitable solution for lack of housing some cities construct tall buildings, while other use wide areas of land for residential housing. I believe that the most effective solution to create additional housing is the construction of tall buildings.

Some believe that building skyscrapers is highly effective because this method requires a small area of land, therefore, the price of construction is considerably lower, compared to building on larger territories. For example, in Moscow housing construction costs vary significantly, with tall residential buildings being cheaper in terms of land usage, whereas accommodation built on wide areas of land is expensive to construct. However, the latter option is usually thought to be more comfortable and safe.

While tall buildings could be constructed in any district of the city, large residential developments require wider areas of land, consequently, they are often constructed in green zones outside the city. This could cause damage to the environment, with a high probability of deforestation, and loss of local wildlife. Nevertheless, nowadays protecting nature is vital, thus, many construction companies try to avoid harming the environment when possible.

To conclude, constructing tall buildings requires less land and therefore is not as expensive as building on wide areas of land, while it does not cause damage to the environment. Despite the fact that housing built on wide areas of land is often considered to be a solution for the problem of housing, I believe that the construction of tall buildings is more effective and is clearly the best option, taking into account its main advantages, such as lower cost and minor environmental damage.