Some companies believe that outsourcing certain business functions, such as manufacturing or customer service, to other countries is a necessary strategy for remaining competitive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? What are the potential advantages and disadvantages for both the company and the country where the outsourcing takes place?

Whilst some companies share the view that outsourcing their business functions abroad is necessary to remain competitive, I believe that it can bring out many detrimental challenges for the countries affected and its inhabitants.

On the one hand, most companies want to obtain lofty earnings while spending as little as they can on certain business functions. Therefore, they have become very interested in outsourcing them to other countries in which the cost is cheaper. As a result, it has become a common strategy among companies to earn more money than in their home country and remain competitive. For example, most of the clothes we buy in local shops are manufactured in China.

On the other hand, the workers are being exploited, earning inappropriate salaries and working in run-down factories. Companies are taking advantage of the low costs to make as much money as they can from poor people to whom are not paying enough. In addition, most of the facilities in which they work are not in good condition. Consequently, companies are being responsible for many of the economic dilemmas happening in those countries. For instance, many workers from retail manufacturers have reported to have been working for more than 60 hours per week.

In conclusion, although companies benefit from outsourcing their business functions to other countries, the drawbacks do not outweigh the advantages. I believe it is immoral and it is having a negative impact on the countries where it takes place.