In many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the reasons? How can this problem be solved ?

In the contemporary world, the amount of household waste people produce is increasing. This trend can be attributed to several factors, such as populations growth and modern lifestyles. However, this issue can be countered through implementing regulations and educating people about the negative influence of this trend.

One of the main contributors to the excessive amounts of household waste is population growth. As the number of people in a country living increases, so does the demand for packaging and massive manufacturing. Factories manufacture immoderate amounts of products in order to meet population’s needs and make profit, thereby depleting our natural resources and causing waste production. Take China as a pertinent example. As it is one of the most populated countries, the amount of waste it produces is very high. Urbanization can be another notable factor behind this trend. An increasing number of people are moving to urban areas and leading modern lifestyles. Most people, especially young adults are driven by consumerism and modern standards. In order to make a good impression on others and look rich, most individuals purchase expensive products even if they are useless. In my view, these are the main reasons why people today produce immoderate amounts of household waste.

To tackle this issue, several measures can be taken. One viable solution is for governments to create limitations on the production of items. If factories are encouraged to manufacture only needed amounts of products, consumers will have no choice but to accept the situation. When fewer goods are being produced, shops stock with fewer items. This discourages overbuying. Raising awareness about the harm waste production causes can further strengthen the process. Authorities should organize meetings and events where scientists explain why excessive waste production should be halted, which could be particularly beneficial for the both current and future generations. Only when people know about how they harm the environment, will they be less likely to overconsume.

In conclusion, population growth and urbanization can be attributed to why people today produce excessive amounts of household waste. Addressing this issue requires the creation of restrictions and raising awareness about this problem.