Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

Sports play a vital role in our society. More and more countries gain global awards thanks to the construction of top-notch specialized infrastructure, which is used for coaching top athletes instead of providing public sports facilities and equipment which is available for citizens. Such statements underline a broad topic that harbors both positive and negative issues that will be discussed in detail, and I myself would lean towards the idea that drawbacks are much more prevailing.

On one hand, building specialized facilities provide a professional environment for high-level athletes to boost their skills, as a result, they bring back several awards for the country in international sports events. It not only contributes to enhancing a country’s reputation and status but also strengthens the relationship between countries. Furthermore, those countries will receive a great deal of attention on a global scale and consequently it will encourage the tourism industry and promote economic growth. In fact, China attracts thousands of travelers after getting the highest standing in the Olympics.

On the other hand, this trend leads to negative effects such as lack of public sports facilities which everyone can use, and the cost for sports construction is astronomical. To be specific, it is a waste of money due to the fact that specialized sports halls are only served for a small group of athletes and the high-cost spent for it should be shared in order to develop sports facilities for other members of the society, give them places to do physical activities. As a consequence, the health and well-being of the population could be engaged thanks to the opportunities of free-access sports equipment and the sportsmanship spirit in the community will increase wider.

In all things considered, I believe the notion of investing in professional sports halls in order to get high position in international competitions instead of constructing public athletics facilities for general citizens would spark interests among people as this would usher liabilities upon our lives, yet I must lean towards the contradiction.