Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

In many countries around the world, the government tends to invest money on specialized facilities for top athletes. This helps them gain success in international competitions. Although providing sport facilities for professional athletes are important and bring positive development but besides this has several negative potential.

On the one hand, in order to achieve the best results in international competition, athletes must not only engage in the strictest training but also utilize state-of-the-art equipment that may not be available in common sporting facilities. For example, professional swimmers must be trained in a professional swimming environment to achieve high results, not in common pools. Moreover, when a country achieves prizes in international competitions, which play an important role in promoting citizen’s sports spirit because when dwellers watch many sports shows in which their countries participate in the win, they will have more interest in sports. Citizens are able to improve their health and well-being by doing exercise and playing sports.

On the other hand, in spite of aforementioned merits, I would contend that the demerits should also be taken into consideration. Firstly, spending much money on specialized facilities poses a heavy burden on the nation leaders because the expenditure on specialized facilities is very expensive, instead the authorities should spend that money on other issues in society such as education, medical. Secondly, there are many inhabitants fond of sports but sport equipment is only available to professional athletes. Thus, they do not have a place to do exercise regularly.

In conclusion , it is clear that this activity has several merits, contributing numerous achievements to the development of nations. However, I believe that it brings several demerits.