Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

More nations are spending a large amount of money on constructing equipment that is athletes’ privilege. In my opinion, it would be a negative development to sacrifice public benefits for a group of people.

There are several reasons why building specialized sport gadgets should be abandoned. Firstly, it is prohibitely expensive to procure these facilities; and construction along with fixing when they are broken down also comes a huge cost to the government. Secondly, these programmes do not benefit the ordinary people in our daily lives, they are simply vanity projects for sportmen. The elderly people are deprived of joy in lives due to lacking of public services. Finally, the number of athletes remains mostly unchanged while the old people are considerablely increasing in terms of population because of aging problem.

I believe that the money from specialized equipment should be poured into sports facililities for the sake of everyone. It is much more economical to build these gadgets, and also do not cost too much budget for periodly repairing. Furthermore, constructing public sport facilities have a positive impact on every member of society, giving some venues for everybody to assemble, chat and share about their recent lives instead of staying home and meeting their friends through a dazzle screen. When living standard is improved, individual’s satisfaction is enhanced, leading to a happier society and more prosperous country.

In conclusion, my view is that benefits of all members of society ought not to be compromised for small sport groups’ advantages, and it is wrong for a country to opt out of programmes that do not improve our everyday lives.